Incase you missed me banging on about it on Instagram, Twitter or Facebook – last week (Sunday 9th October) Essex hosted it’s first plus size fashion event ‘Plus Size Essex’ at Brentwood Holiday Inn and it was a blast!

As it was the first one it was on a smaller scale than some of the national plus size events but I liked the intimate atmosphere and the feeling of being a part of something exciting, shiny and new! There may have only been a handful of brands but they all offered something different and of an excellent quality for the plus sized lady so I wasn’t disappointed! Here’s a selection of what was on offer:

Apples and Pears were there, fronted by their owner Liz who is not only a lovely lady, she is also an advocate for body positivity and passionate about offering fashionable clothes to plus size women. Her pieces are easy to wear and often have a slightly vintage feel so they’re right up my street! For some bizarre reason I didn’t get any photos from their catwalk show but here are some snaps taken by Kat (one of the models) backstage: I particularly liked the polka dot dresses! And here’s another taken by Essexy Hair (who did the model’s hair on the day). 

Couldn’t Curve Less were also there with a beautiful hand-picked selection of pieces. They’re a fairly new brand so I hadn’t heard of them before Plus Size Essex but I was impressed by their on-stream collection and was particularly fond of their floral bomber jacket and black jump suit (pictured).

For me, the brand who stole the show were Gatsby Lady who offer 1920’s inspired hand finished sequin and beaded dresses in sizes 6-30! I’ve read a few blog posts about these dresses (including this one by Georgia at She Might Be) and had them on my wish list for wedding outfits but ended up choosing other things. Now that I’ve seen them up close I am totally buying one for my next fancy do! The model’s were having soooooooo much fun during their catwalk show too…!

They all looked absolutely stunning! 

I jumped at an opportunity to try a couple of their dresses myself – I didn’t want to take them off!

The gold one was a little big at a size 30, and the turquoise was a 26 and I think I might size up to a 28 to give the cape a bit more fabric to flow if I was going to buy it (it’s on my “must buy” list!). I’d probably decide to wear shapewear to smooth out my silhouette but I think they look absolutely stunning! Considering the attention to detail these dresses are very reasonably priced too. I’ve also got this one on my wish list…!

I’d been excited about meeting the ladies behind Chocolate Buddha who make beautiful active wear – primarily for yoga but I’d wear it to my exercise classes… when they make it in my size! They’re looking to extend their range of sizes (and unlike other brands I absolutely believe them!) so I’ll be keeping an eye out! I’m particularly interested in the vest tops (with a double layer so you don’t flash you bra in a head stand!) and either capri leggings or harem pants. The models let us have a little feel of the fabric too – they were so soft!

I truly enjoyed chatting to 2 of the ladies from Chocolate Buddha too – they have great motivations for creating their clothing and I hope it’s a success so I can buy some of it!

There was also a very informative bra fitting workshop by  Ms Pomelo (although, regretfully I didn’t make it to her stall to talk bras or find out more) and a selection of gorgeous bridal wear from Curves and Couture Bridal. I didn’t manage to catch their impromptu catwalk show but I did snap a couple of the models back stage.

Finally, there was a beautiful selection of accessories on offer from Jo’s Jewellery, including my only purchase of the day:

 
 I’ll be back to tell you more about my time at Plus Size Essex but for now, these were the pioneer brands and Plus Size Essex 1! Do you have a favourite?! 

 
  

5 thoughts on “Plus-Fun! at Plus Size Essex

Leave a Reply

