Oh God, I’m absolutely useless at getting the things I plan to write about out of my head and typed up into any semblance of a blog post! Sorry! I promised to tell you more about my adventures in my last CFF post. So, as they say ‘better late than never’ – here’s a quick update on who I met at Curve Fashion Festival in Liverpool the other week and why meeting them was so important to me…

The Celebs 

I’ll be honest, there wasn’t really anyone on the celeb line up I was particularly desperate to meet. But I figured I might not get the opportunity to meet these plus size icons again so decided to say hello – and I’m so glad I did!

I met Sandra and Sandi from Gogglebox, who were great fun! So friendly and chatty. Loved their matching outfits!

They also walked the catwalk (I think for Want That Trend but I might be wrong!) and looked like they were enjoying themselves! I’m a huge Gogglebox fan but Sandi and Sandra haven’t ever been my favourite on it but they were so lovely in real life! 

Hayley Hasselhoff was there launching her new collection with Elvi, the clothes looked sleek and very high-end on the catwalk. I particularly liked the chunky knit jumper on the left:

I’m not so sure about the idea of wearing your PJs and dressing gown as regular clothes (right) but I guess if my night attire looked that glam, I might be tempted! 

Hayley had her very own photo booth where she snapped a few pics and chatted while the photo printed. She was an absolute delight! Complementing everyone, looking flawless and generally not seeming like she was sick of the day (the queue for photos was pretty massive at times!). She was happy to pose for selfies and signed the photobooths print – she gets 10/10 for effort! 

Finally, I also managed to grab a quick chat and photo with the plus size poster girl pioneer herself – Tess Holliday! I know the jury is out amongst the plus size community on Tess, but I figured I may never get another opportunity to meet her and much God, she is a stunner! 

Tess was polite and professional in her manner, she chatted a little but was probably tired by the time I bowled over requesting a photo! I actually asked Kat
 to ask her because I thought she was more likely to say yes to her! 😂 I was happy with my pic and she didn’t refuse so I’m happy! 

The Bloggers 

I’ve said before that I feel like a bit of a fraud calling myself a “blogger”, well coming face to face with real bloggers (the ones who have inspired me to love my body) was a bit intimidating but I needn’t have worried – they were all lovely! I didn’t manage to get photos with everyone I spoke to (and I didn’t manage to speak to everyone I wanted to either) but here’s a selection of the bloggers I’ve followed and chatted to for (in some cases many) years – finally meeting them in the flesh! This was where I got really excited – swoon!

Clockwise from the top there’s Lottie L’AmourFatty Boom TattyPlus Size and Proud,  Fuller Figure Fuller BustLolly Likes and Not So Secret Diary of a Wannabe Princess. I’m sad I didn’t get more photos of the others. Each of these ladies have given me something – either motivation, inspiration or practical tips on how to live comfortably in my skin. Spending a bit of time with them was the highlight of the day for me. It’s a huge boost being part of a community of plus size women, especially when they are as kind, encouraging and beautiful as this lot!

I was almost too nervous to go and speak to Georgina from Fuller Figure Fuller Bust but just before we were due to leave she was stood chatting to some bloggers I know so I decided it was my last opportunity… I didn’t introduce myself or anything because I didn’t expect her to know who I was and didn’t want to look like a crazed super-fan! So I kind of awkwardly asked for a photo. 

George was one of the first plus size bloggers I followed on Twitter and she has inspired me to change my style, wardrobe and attitude towards my body. So I’m so pleased I didn’t pass up the opportunity to meet her.

It was such a fantastic day! Connecting with fellow plus size women is good for the soul! Tickets for next year’s event are already on sale!


 

 

 

One thought on “Who I Met: Curve Fashion Festival 

Leave a Reply

