Last Saturday was one of those magical days when everything seems to fall into place… It was my 35th birthday and I was lucky enough to spend it at Newmarket Races in their VIP bit (it was my husband’s work do) where we were treated to horse racing and a Little Mix performance! By some lucky coincidence my cousins were also there celebrating my cousin’s 30th birthday (her birthday is the day before mine) so I was able to gatecrash their party too – result! 

I’ve not been to the races before (except for doing agency work at Newmarket when I was a student) so wasn’t really sure what to wear… I wanted to look fancy without feeling overdressed so decided to go vintage as I feel less self conscious if I’m dressed up for some reason! I also wanted to save some money by shopping my wardrobe so I decided to go for my Pin Up Girl Penny dress in Harlequin print (mine is a different colour from a previous season – bought from my lovely blogger friend Tanya from Secret Plus Size Goddess). I teamed it with another blogger purchase – a domino Red or Dead clutch (from the fabulous Lolly Likes FATshion -and I’ve seen a couple on EBay) a Rosadior hair flower, and some sparkly silver sandals from Evans (previous season).

 

And here’s a few pictures from the day:

Our view from the VIP bit across the track

My gorgeous cousins 😍😍
Husband and I may have had a few Pimms
Got a bit nearer for Little Mix!

I had an awesome day – I’d definitely recommend the races for a special day out! The added bonus of a concert at the end was a real treat – even if we were a bit cut off from the gig atmosphere across the racetrack (which is why I went nearer!). You’ll need pretty deep pockets if you’re a big drinker though, as drinks were really expensive (£6 for a can of Pimms, almost £30 for a jug of Pimms! Single mini bottles of Moet we a stonking £20!). But we had a bit of beginners luck with the horses and managed to back a winner which helped with the drinks kitty! 

One of my favourite things about the day was dress watching – there were just so many gorgeous dresses to ooh and ahh over! I was also approached by a lady complimenting my dress!

Have you ever been to the races? What did you wear?!

One thought on “A Day at the Races!

Leave a Reply

