Hello all! I recently Instagrammed this little sneaky peek of my latest Simply Be haul:

I thought maybe it was time to share the full ensemble with you as my next contribution to the lovely Leah (from LoveLeah)‘s Outfit August – where a wee band of blogger babes are dressing up and sharing their outfits (right up my street!)

I ordered the Sprinkle of Glitter pink scuba skirtSole Diva cross strap pumps (in pale pink) and a twist knot top (in black). But the top wasn’t quite right so I’m going to try a different size and look for alternatives too… 

So here’s how the final outfit came together… 

I love that this skirt comes with a belt so I’d tried to pick out shoes to match the colour of the belt Louise (Sprinkle of Glitter) is wearing in the photo on the Simply Be site but unfortunately the belt that came with my skirt was more of a hot pink rather than the dusky/light pink I’d expected. Thankfully the belt was long enough (it’s a common issue for plus size belts to not fit the waistline of the dress they’re intended to accessorise!) but the holes weren’t far enough along the belt so I’m going to have to punch my own (yep I’ve got an industrial-strength leather hole punch!). It’s not a huge issue for me.

I really like the flower print pattern of the skirt – the variety of pink and purple shades there to pick out in accessories and/or a pretty casual or going out top makes it pretty versatile. As someone who generally only wears dresses, this offers me a lot of options. 

For some reason I’ve always avoided pointy shoes in favour of round toed ones but (because I thought they’d go well with the skirt/belt) I decided to give these pointy toe (wide fit) flats a go. I’m so pleased I did! They’re comfortable and cute (a winning combination for me!). Expect to see a lot more of them in future posts!

I added a pretty pink headscarf and my #TeamFatsApp necklace (custom made by Funky Laser for a group of us who used to chat a lot on WhatsApp). The skirt goes so well with the necklace I was thinking of wearing them as part of my outfit to Curve Fashion Fest when I’ll get to meet lots of my fellow Team Fats App babes (and lots of other amazing ladies) but if I do decide to wear it I think I need to find a more suitable top…

I’ll be posting a wishlist of contenders in the next few days – keep your eye out! 

Check out the other lovely bloggers taking part in Outfit August for some awesome outfit inspiration:


LeahHannaChristyNikkiKate

2 thoughts on “Pretty in Pink – with Simply Be!

Leave a Reply

