Not So Stylish Surprise!

Last month Modcloth did one of their ‘Stylish Surprise’ sales where they offer a kind of lucky dip kind of arrangement – you order a ‘stylish surprise’ for $20 (low enough to avoid a UK customs/import charge), selecting a dress or shoes or similar and wait excitedly for your parcel to arrive…!

I’ve got several Modcloth dresses – mainly bought through blog sales or off ebay – so I thought I’d roll the metaphorical dice and see what showed up! For the bargain price of $20 I thought it was worth a try.

Today my “dress” arrived… You’ll understand the speech marks when you see it…:

image

image

Erm… Yeah… OK… Not exactly what I had in mind…! 😂

So on the advice of a couple of my lovely blogger friends, I contacted their customer services (through the chat function on their website) and a very helpful lady offered a full refund without any issues! I also got a code for $5 off a $50 purchase, which was a nice gesture (although if I spent $50 I’d have to pay customs fees). All sorted in less than five minutes too.

The top is actually quite nice, although it isn’t something I’d generally buy or wear. It’s a medium weight sweater that looks kind of knitted on the outside and like a sweatshirt inside… I could wear it over a shirt for work or its perfect for casual wear or the gym. I’ll be able to make use of it.

So although my surprise was initially a big disappointment (and if they want my money again then they need to do better in future), the top is kind of stylish and the customer care from Modcloth was a refreshing surprise!

If you want to see lots of people who were very happy with their stylish surprises you can find loads on Instagram by searching the hashtag – which shows that it really is the luck of the draw…!

3 thoughts on “Not So Stylish Surprise!

  1. I ❤ ModCloth. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to take advantage of the stylish surprise, because by the time I got there, the dresses in my size were sold out. I can't do the apparel option, because I'm different sizes on the top and bottom. Next time they do it, I hope I can get to the site in time.

    Like

  2. I was so so disappointed for you for this! I ordered one this time around too and got something really different for me, but cute. I’m glad their customer service was so good! I think I’ll definitely do this again, would you? xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

