Doppelganger Bridesmaid…?!

I spent an amazing impromptu day yesterday catching up with my cousins and our kids. It’s a rare thing for the 5 of us to be together in the same place now we’re all adults – especially without any of our parents or partners! It was lovely to spend some quality time together and I felt lucky to be a part of it!

One of my cousins is due to get married in July so naturally some of the chatter today was wedding prep related – including the bridesmaids dresses…

Back in December whilst at Simply Be for a little blogger meet-up I bought a dress (by Little Mistress) that I’d fell a little bit in love with…

image

image

Then last month I managed to find some bargain comfy heels on eBay for less than a fiver (I even raved about them on Instagram!) and so I thought I was pretty much sorted!

image

Until yesterday…

My cousins were excitedly telling me about their bridesmaids outfits and how they had a sequin top and a cream/beige tulle skirt. Alarm bells began to ring… ๐Ÿ˜ฎ The final blow was when they showed me photos of the gorgeous skirt (by Little Mistress) that they’d be wearing and the incredible sequin top (by Coast) that they’d chosen. My cousin clearly has excellent taste… They were going to look incredible! And I was going to look a bit like I was trying to be a bridesmaid. ๐Ÿ˜ญ

I’m sure I’m not the only person who worries about turning up at a wedding dressed in the same colour dresses as the bridesmaids (let alone the same bloody fabrics and embellishments!) for fear of looking like you’re trying to muscle in. Fortunately my cousin and I are pretty close and she knows that it wouldn’t be my intention to purposely dress like her sisters and be Honorary Bridesmaid Number 3, but it’s still kind of better to avoid it if possible!

I’m thankful that we had this traumatic “hilarious” realisation 3 months before the big day rather than in the actual church looking down the aisle… with the wedding photos as a perpetual reminder. So it’s back to the drawing board for me (it seemed mean to ask her to choose different ones!?!). And best of all – it gives me an excuse to buy a new dress!

Fortunately I have a couple of other events this year where I can wear my dress – so it won’t go to waste!

So, thankfully I managed to dodge a bullet this time! Have you ever been to an event in the same dress as another guest? Ever dressed similar to the bridesmaids or Mother of the Bride?! How did you react?!

7 thoughts on “Doppelganger Bridesmaid…?!

    1. Thanks Leah! I wasn’t sure at first as it goes against my usual fabric and colour choices – but I just love it. I’ve got another wedding, a day at the races and I’m hoping to go to the plus size awards so I figured it would do for at least 1 of those…!

      Like

Leave a Reply

